Latest News Nepal Lalitpur City won the Nepal Super League (NSL) title

Lalitpur City won the Nepal Super League (NSL) title

Lalitpur City FC won the title of the Nepal Super League (NSL) in its second edition on Saturday. In the final held at Dasarath Stadium, Lalitpur City defeated Dhangadhi FC by a margin of 3-2 goals.

Although Lalitpur City won the championship in the first final as well, it was a hard-fought battle. Imoh Ezekiel scored twice, and Dinesh Henjan added another goal to secure the victory.

Imoh Ezekiel scored the first goal for Lalitpur during the injury time of the first half after a free-kick from outside the box. Despite attempts by Dhangadhi’s goalkeeper Mohammad Thaha to save it, Imoh Ezekiel’s direct shot found the back of the net. This goal equalized the score to 1-1 for Lalitpur. Coach Andrew had indicated that this goal was a turning point for Lalitpur.

In the second half, Lalitpur managed to take the lead within a few moments. In the 50th minute, Aditya Shakya, playing from the left wing, scored a goal after receiving a pass from Dinesh. Dinesh, in turn, passed the ball skillfully, and without making any mistake, Aditya put the ball into the net. This goal brought Lalitpur to a 2-1 lead.

In the 58th minute, Imoh Ezekiel scored another outstanding goal. Ananta Tamang provided a pass for Dinesh, and although Dinesh attempted a cross, Richard Agymang cleared the ball. However, the ball landed perfectly in front of Papa Kebe, who headed it into the post. Goalkeeper Thaha attempted to save the ball but failed, and Imoh Ezekiel made an excellent finish with an overhead kick. With this goal, Lalitpur secured a 3-1 lead.

Lalitpur’s journey to the playoffs was challenging, losing to Kathmandu in the league phase. However, based on goal difference, Lalitpur managed to surpass Jhapa and secure the fourth position, entering the playoffs.

In the eliminator, Lalitpur defeated Kathmandu 3-0, and in the second qualifier, they overcame Pokhara Thunders 2-1 to secure a spot in the final. Pokhara Thunders had finished first in the league. In the final, Lalitpur defeated Dhangadhi, securing the title once again

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Related Articles


Nepal lost to New Zealand in U-19 World Cup

Kathmandu. Nepal lost to New Zealand by 64 runs in their first...


U-19 World Cup: New Zealand set a target of 303 runs to Nepal

Kathmandu. In the ongoing U-19 Cricket World Cup, New Zealand has given...


Annapurna RCT conducting grassroots football training

Kathmandu. Annapurna RCT Club is going to organize grassroots football training with...


Gandaki's first win in PM Cup, Koshy all out for 25 runs

Kathmandu. In the ongoing Prime Minister's Cup National Cricket Tournament, Koshi Province...